Gwyneth Walker

Review of "Short Set for String Quartet" (1993)

by Clifton J. Noble, Jr., The Springfield Union-News

Return to Gwyneth Walker Home Page
Return to Gwyneth Walker Music Catalog
Return to Gwyneth Walker Recordings Page
Read notes for Short Set for String Quartet (1993)

Vermont composer Gwyneth Walker provided the concert's other substantial score, Short Set for String Quartet, performed by violinists Lani Bortfeld and Pamela Bartlett, violist Richard Loomis and cellist Nancy Rich. The piece carried the earmarks of Walker's best work: honesty, wit and unpredictability. Much of the piece fell into lithe swing and quartal, bebop-tinged harmonies.

From The Springfield Union News, Massachusetts